21 Day Challenge, Day 3: Layers

Art journal pages that have layer upon layer make me drool. There is so much depth and expression in those pages. One of the things I have been working on in my journal is building up layers.

I am part of a 30 Day Art Journal Workshop and the instructor almost always creates pages that are heavily layered. I am in heaven! I also go to YouTube and search around for “art journal techniques” and “visual journal techniques” to finds hundreds of videos that show layering and other journal techniques as well. Watching these videos helps me to become better at visualizing and creating layers in my own journal.

I often find it amazing that some artists are able to lay down a layer, cover it completely with acrylic paint (the next layer), and then somehow manage to reveal the underlying layer too. It is just amazing what they accomplish through layering and one day soon I will have a good grasp of layering and be able to bring my love affair with this technique fully into my own journal. It’s just a matter of figuring out my own style and not copying someone else’s. Rather allow someone else’s style to inspire me to create my own voice.

Do you layer? What kinds of things do you use in your layering? Do you have any tips on layering to share with us in the Comment section? If so, please do not hesitate to share. And remember to link your day’s page to today’s post using the Mister Linky widget below.

Enjoy building up fantastic layers today!

Share Your Love for Art Journaling...